TTU Awards 2012-13: Player of the Season

Posted by on Jun 6, 2013 in TTU Awards | 2 Comments
TTU Awards 2012-13: Player of the Season
Image available under Creative Commons (c) AussieGold

Although League Two’s Marlon Pack and Tom Pope have notched up hearty nominations this year, as in previous seasons the upper end of the Championship dominates the Player of the Season category.

Troy Deeney and Matej Vydra, contributors of so many of Watford’s many goals this term, were mentioned by TTU staff, as was David Marshall, whose prowess at the other end of the pitch for Cardiff didn’t go unnoticed.

That late-bloomer Glenn Murray, victim of an ill-timed cruciate tear in Palace’s first-leg play-off semi-final against ex-club Brighton, was also shown some love, but it’s his teammate Mile Jedinak who picks up 2012-13’s award.

As one Unfortunate put it…”The curse of the defensive midfielder is to be overlooked by all but the wilfully contrarian. Guilty as charged. Jedinak gets the nod for his consistency of performance throughout the season. Palace’s attacking triumvirate of Zaha, Murray and Bolasie caught the eye, but their central midfield colleague provided the platform from which they could build. Strong, commanding and calm. The oft-used clichà© that every team is looking for a 20-goal-a-season striker should be updated. Every team would be improved by having a player like Jedinak at its heart.”

2011-12 winner: Rickie Lambert
2010-11 winner: Adel Taarabt
2009-10 winner: Charlie Adam

The Two Unfortunates
The non-partisan website with an eye on the Football League


  1. Jonathan Rodgers
    June 7, 2013

    The correct decision for player of the year, in my view. I think he’s been crucial in Palace’s promotion push, sitting in front of the back four, breaking up attacks & knocking decent passes around. He was brilliant at Selhurst Park earlier in the season when I had the trauma of watching Palace thrash Derby three nil. I was also in the Watford end to watch him in another dominant performance (second only to the petulant Man Utd loanee..). Should have got sent off mind you for that elbow..

  2. TTU Awards 2013-14: Player of the Season | The Two Unfortunates
    June 4, 2014

    […] winner: Mile Jedinak 2011-12 winner: Rickie Lambert 2010-11 winner: Adel Taarabt 2009-10 winner: Charlie […]


Leave a Reply