TTU Awards 2012-13: Worst Kit

Posted by on Jun 5, 2013 in TTU Awards | 5 Comments
TTU Awards 2012-13: Worst Kit
Image available under Creative Commons (c) joncandy

Last year, we were left befuddled when, despite numerous attempts on this blog to engage with weightier issues such as the economic geography of football, financial troubles and foreign ownership, these efforts were outperformed by a missive expressing dislike of Brighton’s day-glo green and black away kit. This year, by contrast, the choice has been much simpler.

Cardiff City proved themselves to be a mighty fine football team in 2012-13 but the club’s decision to ditch their traditional blue for Malaysian red was simply indefensible, and made for confusing viewing on the Football League Show, particularly when up against opposition wearing blue shirts and white shorts as happened a couple of times during the season. As Steve Gabb of the Spirit of Mirko blog pointed out when he appeared on an episode of the We Are Going Up! podcast, they compounded it all by using a template design peddled to them by Puma.

In addition, Gillingham‘s home effort may have been celebrating/cashing in on some sort of anniversary – but the lace-up collar made the team look like the bar staff of a Bavarian-themed pub.

2011-12 winner: Brighton (away)
2010-11 winner: Southampton (home)
2009-10 winner: Newcastle (away)

The Two Unfortunates
The non-partisan website with an eye on the Football League


  1. putajumperon
    June 5, 2013

    Think Liverpool may have nailed their colours to this award next season.

  2. Craig Bellamy
    June 5, 2013

    Sign the petition. It takes two seconds. BLUEbirds forever ng-ccfcs-identity.html

  3. Hellon Gills
    June 5, 2013

    Cashing in is certainly the right way to describe that Gills kit. Celebrating our supposed centenary when we are 119 years old. Back to blue next year thankfully.

  4. TTU Awards 2013-14: Worst Kit | The Two Unfortunates
    June 2, 2014

    […] winner: Cardiff City (home) 2011-12 winner: Brighton (away) 2010-11 winner: Southampton (home) 2009-10 winner: Newcastle […]


Leave a Reply