TTU Awards 2010/2011: Player of the Season

Posted by on Jun 20, 2011 in TTU Awards | 2 Comments

Our votes in this most storied of categories were split evenly and many of the usual characters cropped up. Grant Holt, so hearteningly wonderful in this year of Canary yellow, will be looking back on his days as a definitive journeyman and Singapore leaguer with disbelief and Scott Sinclair’s play off heroics confirmed an ability to link wideside flair with end product.

Lower down the leagues, Craig Mackail-Smith was a whirling blond dervish for the Posh and Danny Whitaker and Craig Davies of Chesterfield had notable times of it, even if the latter should be marked down a little for the indecent haste with which he departed for Barnsley in June.

But for once, we’ll put our contrary streak to one side and acknowledge the player who most made the difference in deciding a divisional title. Adel Taarabt’s Premier League credentials were hotly debated in the comments section of a wintertime post, but his outrageous skillz have left us panting with excitement.

Last Year’s Winner: Charlie Adam

The Two Unfortunates
The non-partisan website with an eye on the Football League


  1. TTU Awards 2012-13: Young Player of the Season | The Two Unfortunates
    June 6, 2013

    […] streak that needs to be tamed, but he is always aggressive and competitive, unlike the unreliable Adel Taarabt, to whom some have compared him. Zaha’s performances in the play-offs showed that he has the […]

  2. TTU Awards 2012-13: Player of the Season | The Two Unfortunates
    June 6, 2013

    […] winner: Rickie Lambert 2010-11 winner: Adel Taarabt 2009-10 winner: Charlie […]


Leave a Reply