TTU Awards 2012-13: Flop of the Season

Posted by on Jun 4, 2013 in TTU Awards | 3 Comments
TTU Awards 2012-13: Flop of the Season
Image available under Creative Commons (c) quisnovus

It’s been a fine season for flops across the divisions.

Unfair though it may be, many a neutral has taken pleasure at the continued turmoil at Blackburn Rovers over the past 12 months and one of our regulars particularly cited Danny Murphy’s role in their ongoing decline. Having arrived with great expectations, the Rovers captain not only failed to lead the Lancastrians back to the Premier League but also found himself stripped of the armband under Michael Appleton. £30,000 a week well invested, Venky’s.

Elsewhere, Owen Coyle was given the nod, as were Middlesbrough, Tranmere and Dagenham, all three clubs having enduring utterly dire second halves after promising beginnings.

Two other individuals — Bilel ‘the mouth’ Mohsni and Edgar Davids — were mentioned, the latter perhaps unfairly so after having inherited what was a garbage set of players. But our final losing nominees, Fleetwood, were worthier suggestions; the big-spending Cod Army having proved a very disappointing addition to the League in their debut season.

Out-flopping them all, though, was Wolverhampton Wanderers, collectively. The board for panicking and not backing their own judgement; Stà¥le Solbakken and Dean Saunders for being out of their depth; the players for taking home Premier League salaries but not producing commensurate performances. A club that should have been very competitive in the Championship instead descended into chaos and, ultimately, into the third tier.

But wasn’t it fun for the rest of us…?

2011-12 winner: Steve McLaren
2010-11 winner: Kris Boyd
2009-10 winner: Tamà¡s Priskin

The Two Unfortunates
The non-partisan website with an eye on the Football League


  1. johnwolf
    June 4, 2013

    looking at the picture I can see the low life who are draining the soul out of our club, I see the Moxey out banners – my bet is they are from the south bank, the stand that tell us all that they are Wolves fans and yet stick to fingers up to the club when they are asked to abide by the Health & Safety directive regarding standing.
    Do these idiots not realise that Moxey is going nowere and why should he, why should anyone get the sack for doing their job right – the trouble is some of our fans can’t see beyond their noses, they would have the club bankrupt.
    These are the same fans that moan now but did not at the time the plans were submitted for the redevelopment of the ground, Morgans problem was starting it at the Home end (the Stan Cullis stand) and not the away end the south bank.
    Yes mistakes were made, those resposible have admitted that – but I wonder how many fans would admit that they have not supported the club like they could have done – at times the place was like a morgue and if we were losing with say ten minutes to go the first stand/group of supporters to leave were the south bank! I wonder how many of those in the picture would give up Moxey’s wages if they had the chance, and those KIDS holding the banner – WHEN THEY HAVE BEEN SUPPORTING THE CLUB FOR LONGER THAN TWO MINUTES maybe they will be in a position to talk about the club -me I am in my 61st season (I am 64) been a season ticket holder for the past 41years – will I be there next season – of course I will and I will be supporting the club not belly aching at every opportunity.

  2. Paul's Blade
    June 4, 2013

    Once again ‘JohnWolf’ spouts off badly written bile about the clubs supporters. Quite why he thinks he has the sole right to do so is beyond me,. He is not the only one who has been supporting the club for many decades. Yet the fact that they hold different opinions from him as to why the club is in the mess it is in seems to him to grant him the right to slag off anyone and everyone. Extremely juvenile for a man of 64.

  3. TTU Awards 2013-14: Flop of the Season | The Two Unfortunates
    June 3, 2014

    […] winner: Wolverhampton Wanderers 2011-12 winner: Steve McLaren 2010-11 winner: Kris Boyd 2009-10 winner: Tamás […]


Leave a Reply